What Acts Are Prohibited?

The fair housing laws prohibit discriminating, on the on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, ancestry, familial status, age, sexual orientation, national origin, or handicap.  Examples of prohibited conduct are:

·        Refusing to rent, sell  housing

·        Making housing unavailable

·        Setting different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling

·        Providing different housing services or facilities

·        Denying falsely that housing is available for inspection, sale, or rental

·        Denying access to or membership in a facility or service (such as a multiple listing service) related to the sale or rental of housing.

·        Inquiring about the nature or extent of a person's handicap

·        Refusing to make a mortgage loan or provide information regarding a loan

·        Imposing different terms or conditions for the loan


Finally, no person can:

·        Threaten, coerce, intimidate or interfere with anyone exercising a fair housing right or assisting others who exercise that right

Advertise or make any statement that indicates a limitation or preference based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or handicap.