Cuyahoga County requires all dogs to be licensed. Information is available online at the Cuyahoga County Auditor’s Office or by phone at (216) 443-7028. Ohio Law requires owners of dogs to renew their dog license each year between December 1st and January 31st. The cost of a one year license is $20. Also available are three year licenses for $60 and permanent licenses for $200. Permanent dog licenses can only be purchased via mail-in registration or in person at the downtown location.
It is required by law to register Pit Bulls, Canary Dogs, American Bulldogs, Wolf- Hybrids and vicious animals with the City of North Olmsted. A $50, non-refundable, annual fee is required for registration along with $100,000 insurance requirement, posting of signs and containment requirements.
Read more here: Section 505.16 of the Codified Ordinances
Examples of situations where you can call the Service Department for assistance, (440) 716-4151:
If your dog runs away first call the Service Department at 440-716-4151 and describe your pet. Your dog may be in our kennel or being held by another resident and the Service Department will be happy to facilitate your reunion. The Service Department has a temporary holding kennel for dogs. Dogs placed in the kennel between Sunday and Wednesday will be held for up to 72 hours. If not claimed within 72 hours, the dogs will be placed with the Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter. Dogs found between Thursday and Saturday will be directly placed with the Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter. The Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter will kennel dogs for 72 hours (3 days) and if not claimed, will put the animal up for adoption.
Dead animal in the roadway
Examples of situations where you can call the Police Department, (440) 777-3535:
Examples of situations of some issues that are NOT handled by the Service Department or the Police Department:
A Wildlife Management Company can help you with your issue.
A Coyote is in Your Backyard. What should you do?
Call Ohio Division of Wildlife at 1-800-WILDLIFE (945-3543)
Animal Bites & Exposure Incident
State and local regulations require that all animals bites, scratches and rabies exposure incidents be reported to the local health department within a 24-hour period. Health care providers are required by state law to report animal bites to the Cuyahoga County Board of Health. If you did not seek medical treatment, call the Cuyahoga County Board of Health at (216) 201-2000. The Cuyahoga County Board of Health will follow up with the victim, notify the pet owner and monitor in-home quarantine of the offending pet.
For additional resources please visit the Cuyahoga County Board of Health at www.ccbh.net